RFANS - AGM

Recorder: Lana McMullen

Board members in attendance:	Paul Macdonald, Kelly Cunningham, Bud MacInnis, Angie Tavares, Shannon Jarvis, Bob Quigley, Lana McMullen, Kevin Bennett, Bill Cruickshank, Shauna Moulton, Executive Director: Jennie Greencorn
	Staff: Robyn Morris, Media and Communications Manager and Brittany Hunter, RFANS Admin Assistant
	Ex officio: Michelle Aucoin, Director of Provincial Services, Department of Communities, Culture, Tourism and Heritage.
RFANS Members/Guests:	Drew Watson, Paul Tingley, Levi Denny, Joel Dawe

Minutes

1. Call to Order/Welcome: Quorum was confirmed by Brittany Hunter.

Bob Quigley, Acting President of the Board of Directors for RFANS welcomed everyone to the Annual General Meeting and called the meeting to order at 10:02am.

2. Agenda: Motion to approve, moved by Bud MacInnis and seconded by Bill Cruickshank. Motion passed.

3. Presentation of Voting Credentials/Identification of Voting Delegates: Voting delegates were reviewed and identified.

5. Approval of Minutes of AGM of 2020: Motion to approve minutes of the last Annual General Meeting was moved by Drew Watson and seconded by Kevin Bennett. Motion passed.

6. Presentation of Annual Report: Bob Quigley presented the details of the report. Michelle Aucoin, the Director of Provincial Services with the Department of Communities, Culture, Tourism and Heritage presented the Government Report.

7. Financial Report: The financial report was presented by Bud MacInnis. Motion to approve the financial report was by Paul Taljaard and seconded by Angie Tavares. Motion passed.

8. Ratification of the acts of the Board of Directors for the previous year: A motion to approve the ratification of the acts of the Board of Directors for the previous year was made by Scott Preston and seconded by Bill Cruickshank. Motion passed.

9. By-Law Amendments: The following By-Law Amendments have been put forth for consideration to membership:

Article 9 currently reads:

"No funds of the society shall be paid to or available for the personal benefit of any member".

Article 9: Remove "No funds of the society shall be paid to or available for the personal benefit of any member".

• **Rationale**: Some of the RFANS members play a key role in delivering some of the RFANS educational/leadership offerings. When they deliver these courses, they get paid for their time as per RFANS policy.

Article 23 currently reads:

"The voting Members of the Board of Directors shall consist of 5 Officers: President, Vice President, Past President, Treasurer, Corporate Secretary; 6 Regional Directors, one from each region of the Province as defined by the Provincial Government department responsible for recreation service delivery; and two Directors at Large".

Article 23: Remove "one from each region of the province as defined by the Provincial Government department responsible for recreation service delivery".

• **Rationale**: RFANS is considering changing the regional boundaries to provide better representation to membership.

Article 37 currently reads:

"The Officers shall be elected by the Members and shall be a President, a Vice-President, a Treasurer, a Corporate Secretary, and a Past President".

Article 37: Remove "and A Past President" and add to Article 37(a) The Past President position is not elected but filled when the individual vacates the President role after their term. They are a full voting executive member of the board.

• **Rationale**: The role of the Past President is to support and provide guidance to the incoming President therefore this position is assumed by the Past President and not open to anyone other than the Past President.

Motion to accept By-Law amendments as presented. Moved by Paul Taljaard and seconded by Drew Watson. Motion passed unanimously.

10. Election of Officers:
Secretary (2 yr term): Lana McMullen
Treasurer (2 yr term): Scott Preston
Cape Breton Region Representative – Levi Denny
Highland Region Representative – Angie Tavares
South Shore Region Representative – Kelly Cunningham
Member at Large (Corporate) – Paul Taljaard
Member at Large – RyLynn Hustad

Many thanks to Bud MacInnis for his years of service to the RFANS Board.

Motion to accept 2023-2024 Board members, moved by Angie Tavares and seconded by Shauna Moulton. Motion passed.

10. Other Business: None

11. Adjournment: Moved by Paul Taljaard and seconded by Shauna Moulton to adjourn the meeting. The AGM was adjourned at 10:33am.

Submitted by: Lana McMullen, Secretary - RFANS